Events / Rainbow Worm 10: Queer Asia

Rainbow Worm 10: Queer Asia

Tuesday 18th June 2013

Ever wished you had a time machine? Does taking a trip back to the past, the present and to the future to learn about queer communities in China intrigue you?

Join us this Tuesday, June 18th for an exciting talk by leading Queer Asia writers who will unravel queer male relations in the first half of the Twentieth Century as well as how urban politics and family dynamics shape the discourse on same-sex female sexuality in contemporary China. Our guest speakers are:

  • Lucetta Yip Lo KAM, Assistant Professor in the Department of Humanities and Creative Writing at Hong Kong Baptist University, her published book Shanghai Lalas: Female Tongzhi Communities and Politics in Urban China is the first ethnographic study on lala communities in Shanghai. Drawing from numerous interview accounts, her research investigates the reconciliation of queer female identity in a culture enforced by familial harmony and compulsory marriage.
  • Wenqing KANG, Associate Professor of History at Cleveland State University, Kang’s preeminent oeuvre Obsession: Male Same Sex Relations in China, 1900-1950 traces the history of queer male desire in China. Kang explores how factors such as colonialism, nationalism, and sensational media reconfigured the Chinese understanding of same-sex relations and how language continues to influence modern discourse on homosexuality.
  • Bin XU (moderator), Director of Common Language, board member of Beijing LGBT Center.

About the Event:

Time: Tuesday June 18th, 7:30-9:00pm

Venue: The Bookworm, Building 4, Nan Sanlitun Road, Chaoyang District

Price: 40 RMB in advance or 50 RMB at the door (one free drink included); only the first 30 people to reserve via rainbowworm.bjlgbt@gmail.com can receive discounted tickets, so book now!

A portion of the proceeds will be used toward the work of the Beijing LGBT Center.

About Rainbow-Worm:

Rainbow-worm is a volunteer-led initiative of the Beijing LGBT Center aiming to bring together the Beijing LGBT community for cultural exchange and communication. The first Rainbow-worm event in December 2011 was a phenomenal success and we hope that you will join us for our fourth event of 2013!
queer asia rainbow worm

Share This:

Additional Information:

View Count : 2,555

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

No comment so far
Submit an event
Queer Comrades
Queer Comrades

Contact Us

Questions? Suggestions? Please contact us at info@queercomrades.com or fill out the form below.

Queer Comrades

联系我们

分享近期将要发生的同志活动信息,我们将会非常乐意在我们的网站上分享。

Queer Comrades

Submit your video!

Tell us about your queer video and we’ll be happy to share it on our website! Please note that you first need to upload your video on a public video website (like Youtube, Tudou, Youku,…) before we can share it here.

Queer Comrades

提交你的视频

告诉我们你最爱的同志视频,我们将会非常乐意在我们的网站上分享! 提醒:我们只接受已经上传到其他视频网站的链接(如:土豆,新浪,Youtube等)

Queer Comrades

Send us your news!

Tell us about your queer news item and we’ll be happy to share it on our website! Please note that if you are uploading a video news item, you first need to upload it on a public video website (like Youtube, Tudou, Youku,…) before we can share it here.

Queer Comrades

分享你的新闻

告诉我们你最爱的同志新闻,我们将会非常乐意在我们的网站上分享! 如果你想分享视频的话,请注意:我们只接受已经上传到其他视频网站的链接(如:土豆,新浪,Youtube等)

Queer Comrades

Send us your blog!

Tell us about your queer blog and we’ll be happy to share it on our website!

Queer Comrades

分享你的博客

告诉我们你最爱的同志博客,我们将会非常乐意在我们的网站上分享!

Queer Comrades

Send us your event!

Tell us about your queer event and we’ll be happy to share it on our website!

Queer Comrades

分享你的活动

分享近期将要发生的同志活动信息,我们将会非常乐意在我们的网站上分享。

Queer Comrades

活动 / 彩虹虫第十期:亚洲酷儿

彩虹虫第十期:亚洲酷儿

2013年6月18日 周二

你是否曾希望有一台时间机器,去一趟过去,现在和未来,来了解那时中国的酷儿社群?很有趣的想法对吧!

请参加我们6月18日(周二)两位著名酷儿作家的精彩分享。他们将解开20世纪上半叶中国男男关系的秘密,以及城市政治和家庭关系对当代中国女性同性性欲话语的塑造。我们的主讲嘉宾是:

  • 金晔路 (Lucetta Kam), 香港浸会大学人文与创作系助理教授。她最近出版的《上海拉拉:中国城市女同志社群和政治》是第一部关于上海拉拉社群的人类学研究。她从众多的调查采访中吸取素材,研究酷儿女性身份与家庭和睦及强制婚姻为强势文化的和解。
  • 康文庆,克利夫兰州立大学历史系副教授。主要著作《癖:中国男男性关系,1900-1950》追寻中国男男欲望的历史轨迹,并探索如殖民主义,民族主义,和煽情媒体等因素对中国同性关系理解的重构以及语言如何继续影响关于同性恋的现代话语。
  • 徐玢(嘉宾主持),“同语”负责人,北京同志中心理事。

关于活动

时间: 2013年6月18日,周二晚 7:30-9:00

地点: 朝阳区南三里屯路4号楼 老书虫

门票: 现场购票50元,预售票40元 (包含一杯免费饮品)

请发送预订票数和称呼至rainbowworm.bjlgbt@gmail.com

注意:只有前30名订票的朋友才可享受40元的优惠票价,所以赶快行动吧!

(部分收益将用于支持北京同志中心的公益事业)

关于”彩虹虫”

“彩虹虫”活动是由北京同志中心发起,由志愿者主导的文化活动,旨在加强北京地区LGBT社区的文化交流。2011年12月的首次”彩虹虫”活动取得了巨大成功。我们希望您的加入能让2013年第四期的”彩虹虫”更加灿烂精彩!

queer asia rainbow worm

分享:

附加信息:

查看计数: 2,562

发表评论

电子邮件地址不会被公开。 必填项已用*标注

No comment so far
提交活动
Queer Comrades
Queer Comrades

Contact Us

Questions? Suggestions? Please contact us at info@queercomrades.com or fill out the form below.

Queer Comrades

联系我们

分享近期将要发生的同志活动信息,我们将会非常乐意在我们的网站上分享。

Queer Comrades

Submit your video!

Tell us about your queer video and we’ll be happy to share it on our website! Please note that you first need to upload your video on a public video website (like Youtube, Tudou, Youku,…) before we can share it here.

Queer Comrades

提交你的视频

告诉我们你最爱的同志视频,我们将会非常乐意在我们的网站上分享! 提醒:我们只接受已经上传到其他视频网站的链接(如:土豆,新浪,Youtube等)

Queer Comrades

Send us your news!

Tell us about your queer news item and we’ll be happy to share it on our website! Please note that if you are uploading a video news item, you first need to upload it on a public video website (like Youtube, Tudou, Youku,…) before we can share it here.

Queer Comrades

分享你的新闻

告诉我们你最爱的同志新闻,我们将会非常乐意在我们的网站上分享! 如果你想分享视频的话,请注意:我们只接受已经上传到其他视频网站的链接(如:土豆,新浪,Youtube等)

Queer Comrades

Send us your blog!

Tell us about your queer blog and we’ll be happy to share it on our website!

Queer Comrades

分享你的博客

告诉我们你最爱的同志博客,我们将会非常乐意在我们的网站上分享!

Queer Comrades

Send us your event!

Tell us about your queer event and we’ll be happy to share it on our website!

Queer Comrades

分享你的活动

分享近期将要发生的同志活动信息,我们将会非常乐意在我们的网站上分享。

Queer Comrades